What if…

Another mail, this time from my younger brother…. I’m posting just the final part of my mail, along with my reply.

Plz read bible with an open mind and you may find many many positive things which aplly to our success in life… its better to die believing in God and find out He doesn’t exist than to live saying there’s no God and find out after death that there is one… then it w’d be too late…

god bless ya
xxxxx

========================

xxxxx,

I’ll just answer the last part of your mail now….

 

“its better to die believing in God and find out He doesn’t exist than to live saying there’s no God and find out after death that there is one… then it w’d be too late… “

I’d’ve loved to do that….but there is a problem….

Out of the thousands of options available, which god should i believe in?
Just as you find it absolutely valid and rational to believe in your god, there are millions of others who have great reasons to believe in their gods too…

And suppose i spend my entire life clinging to one particular god, only to find out after my death that the real god was the one of an aboriginal tribe in australia, what a terrible waste it would be…..

Also, it’d be really bad for me to follow christ, just because i was born in that community.

Stephen Roberts once said,

“I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.”

James

December 1, 2007. Tags: , , . FreeThoughts, Letters.

One Comment

  1. Dale replied:

    God or not-God, no difference.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

